Three sub-continent countries set to host ICC events in next cycle

The host nations for every major ICC Women's tournament between 2024-2027 have been confirmed during the ongoing ICC Annual Conference in Birmingham.

The ICC has announced that four women's tournaments will take place in four years, starting with the ICC Women's T20 World Cup 2024, which will take place in Bangladesh.

This will be the second time that Bangladesh will be hosting a women's T20 World Cup. The tournament will be held between September-October, and comprise 10 teams playing 23 matches. 

A year later, the action will move to India for the ICC Women's Cricket World Cup 2025. The tournament will be India's fifth hosting an ICC Women's tournament, with four tournaments so far being ICC Women's World Cups. Eight teams will compete in the tournament, making up a total of 31 matches. 

Video CWC22 03 Apr 22
Australia lift the Women's World Cup trophy

The next event on the calendar will be the ICC Women's T20 World Cup 2026, which will be hosted by England in June. This will be the first time the tournament will be held in England. The number of teams will also increase from 10 to 12, with a total of 33 matches to be played.

On being awarded the tournament, Claire Connor, interim ECB CEO, said: "We’re absolutely delighted that we’ve been selected to host the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2026. We saw back in 2017 how hosting the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup captured people’s imagination and I’ll never forget watching Heather Knight lift the trophy on that magical day at a sold-out Lord’s." 

Video cwc19 23 Jul 17
#WWC17 Final: England lift their fourth World Cup title

The final event of the cycle will be hosted by Sri Lanka, subject to them qualifying for the tournament. The inaugural edition of the Women's ICC Champions Trophy will be based on the T20 format. It will be held in February 2026, with six teams competing for the trophy across 16 matches.

ICC Women's Global Event Schedule
ICC Women's Global Event Schedule

Ashley de Silva, Sri Lanka Cricket CEO, was delighted with Sri Lanka getting the hosting rights. "Sri Lanka Cricket gives utmost importance to the growth of women’s cricket; hence we consider, being bestowed the honour of hosting ICC Women's T20 Champions Trophy 2027,z is an excellent opportunity for us to be a part of the global growth program launched by the International Cricket Council to develop women’s cricket."

The tournament hosts were picked through a competitive bidding process. The process was overseen by a Board sub-committee chaired by Martin Snedden, along with Sourav Ganguly and Ricky Skerritt. The recommendations forwarded by them were then accepted by the ICC Board, after a thorough review of each bid. 

FTP 2023-27 approved

Both the men's and women's Future Tour Programme from 2023 to 2027 were also approved by the ICC Board. The schedule will be released in the coming days. 

Election schedule for the next ICC Chair announced

The election for the position of the ICC Chairman will take place in November 2022. The term of the position, currently occupied by Greg Barclay, will run for a period of two years, from 1 December 2022 to 30 November 2024. 

Daniel Vettori and VVS Laxman have also been appointed to the ICC Men’s Cricket Committee as current player representatives, while Roger Harper has been appointed as the second past player representative, joining Sri Lanka's Mahela Jayawardena. 

Share Your Thoughts!

Tell us what you think about the T20 Website and App for a chance to win prizes