Australia, New Zealand forced to make changes to U19 T20 World Cup squad

Australia were forced to make two changes to their ICC Women's U19 T20 World Cup squad while New Zealand have also made a change after the first round of games over the weekend.

Australia and New Zealand had contrasting games to kick off their ICC Women's U19 T20 World Cup campaign. While Australia succumbed to a shock loss to Bangladesh by seven wickets, the Trans-Tasmanian neighbours cruised to a ten-wicket win over Indonesia on Sunday.

However, in a blow to New Zealand's campaign, they have lost left-arm spinner Fran Jonas to injury. The hugely talented Jonas has already featured in 23 senior international matches across ODIs and T20Is, but the 18-year-old will miss this tournament with a calf strain.

Video T20 World Cup 15 Dec 22
#TurnItUp | The 2023 ICC Women's T20 World Cup is here!
#TurnItUp | The 2023 ICC Women's T20 World Cup is here!

New Zealand have named Kate Irwin as her replacement. Auckland's Irwin was a top performer at the National Tournament in Lincoln that finished in December last year, finishing as the joint-highest wicket-taker with 15 scalps.

Australia, meanwhile, have made two changes with Chloe Ainsworth and Jade Allen both sustaining thumb fractures. Paris Hall and Ananaya Sharma have been named as replacements. 

Video U19 Women's T20WC 15 Jan 23
A ten-wicket win for New Zealand to start their tournament | U19 Women's T20 World Cup

Hall, a wicketkeeper batter, was named as a non-travelling reserve for this tournament and had received her maiden Women's National Cricket League contract with South Australia in May last year.

New South Wales' Sharma, who was also named as a non-travelling reserve, was the leading wicket-taker at the U19 Female National Championships.

Video U19 Women's T20WC 14 Jan 23
Bangladesh stun Australia in tournament opener | U19 Women's T20 World Cup
Bangladesh beat Australia in any ICC event for the first time in the U19 Women's T20 World Cup.

All three changes have been approved by the Event Technical Committee (ETC) of the ICC U19 Women’s T20 World Cup 2023. 

Updated squads

Australia: Charis Bekker, Paris Bowdler, Maggie Clark, Sianna Ginger, Lucy Hamilton, Ella Hayward, Milly Illingworth, Eleanor Larosa, Rhys McKenna, Claire Moore, Kate Pelle, Amy Smith, Ella Wilson, Paris Hall, Ananaya Sharma.

Reserves: Samira Dimeglio, Sara Kennedy, Olivia Henry.

New Zealand: Izzy Sharp (c), Olivia Anderson, Anna Browning, Kate Chandler, Natasha Codyre, Izzy Gaze, Antonia Hamilton, Abby Hotton, Louisa Kotkamp, Kayley Knight, Paige Loggenberg, Emma McLeod, Georgia Plimmer, Natasha Wakelin, Kate Irwin.